Safe Worker Award

Nominate a safe worker 

Interested in nominating a co-worker who has made safety a priority in your workplace? If you know someone that fits the description of a safe worker, nominate them for the 2021 WorkSafe Saskatchewan Safe Worker Award using either our online form or Safe Worker Award application..

Do you know a safety hero?

Every day there are workers (heroes) across Saskatchewan that help save lives and reduce injuries and illnesses by identifying hazards and introducing new safety initiatives.

Worker involvement is key to creating healthy and safe workplaces. Why? Because workers who care about safety promote a better work environment and contribute to a healthier and safer workplace.

WorkSafe Saskatchewan wants to acknowledge workers that make safety a priority in their workplaces.

A safe worker might be someone who:

  • Is always conscious of their safety and the safety of others
  • Is always alert to hazardous conditions and take steps to avoid them
  • Always raises safety issues and solutions to resolve them

The 2020 WorkSafe Saskatchewan Safe Worker Award winner is Tasia Smith, Ducks Unlimited Canada, Regina, SK.

Tasia Smith, Ducks Unlimited Canada, Safe Worker Nominee

Tasia was chosen for her many contributions to workplace safety within her organization. Most recently, she identified the need for a safety process for their staff travelling around the province. Tasia researched local best practices and leveraged existing processes and forms used in other provinces.

The result of her research was a vehicle safety binder, which includes vehicle inspection forms, field level hazard assessment forms and other essential information related to safety and incident reporting processes. A check-in/check-out procedure was also implemented and vehicles are now equipped with safety bags, first aid kits and fire extinguishers. Tasia’s initiative has contributed to the safety of their staff travelling the province.

Ducks Unlimited, Safe Worker

Our Safe Worker finalists are:

Dustin Bertsch
Black and McDonald Limited, Saskatoon, SK

Dianne Addley
Canada Post, Saskatoon, SK

Safe Worker Award Honour Roll

2019 Winner: Darrell Wingerak – BASF Agricultural Specialties Ltd., Saskatoon
Finalists: Dianne Addley – Canada Post, Saskatoon
Andy McGhee – Reliance Gregg’s Home Service, Saskatoon

2018 Winner: Justin Ellis – Humboldt Electric, Saskatoon
Finalists: Ryan Munson – BASF Agricultural Specialties Ltd, Saskatoon
Gerry Sohnchen – North Ridge Development Corp, Saskatoon

2017 Winner: Heidi McCaskill – Cervus Peterbilt, Regina
Finalists: Jim Brown – Viterra, Regina
Echo Stringer – Saskatchewan Liquor and Gaming, Moose Jaw

2016 Winner: Lanny Storey – AREVA Resources Canada Inc.
Finalists: Heidi McCaskill – Cervus Equipment Peterbilt – Regina
Paul Price – North Battleford Youth Centre

2015 Winner: Lorna Hamilton – Kelvindell Lodge, Kelsey Trail Health Region
Finalists: Lisa Reddekopp – Saskatchewan Liquor and Gaming
Paul Price – North Battleford Youth Centre

2014 Winner: Calvin Greenstien, Novozymes BioAg Ltd.
Finalists: Shane Kivol, Mosaic
Debra Bowman, Kerrobert Integrated Health Care

2013 Winner: Carey Gleason – Terry Ortynsky Royal Ford Sales, Yorkton
Finalists: Calvin Greenstien – Novozymes BioAg Ltd.
Darren Soyka – Mosaic

2012 Winner: Leeanne Koshykowski – River Heights Lodge, North Battleford
Finalists: Raymond Campbell – City of Swift Current, Swift Current
Randall Getz – Quorex Construction

2011 Winner: Howard Jones – Morris Industries, Yorkton
Finalists: Pat Willis – Sysco, Regina
Andrea Crittenden – Asiil Enterprises Ltd.

2010 Winner: Bruce Skilliter – SaskPower, Regina
2009 Winner: Lianne Carpenter – Saskatchewan Research Council, Saskatoon
2008 Winner: Cindy Cooper – St. Joseph’s Integrated Care Centre, Lestock
2007 Winner: Greg Galbraith – ASL Paving Ltd., Saskatoon
2006 Winner: Ken Kostyniuk – Rite-Way Manufacturing Co. Ltd., Imperial

Safe Worker Award Committee members
Labour Relations and Workplace Safety
Saskatchewan Workers’ Compensation Board
Saskatchewan Safety Council
Saskatchewan Federation of Labour